Teaserbild
Trennline

Auction guide for gallery auctions


Teaser Kuenker Auktionen

If you wish to bid on coins and medals for the first time, it would be advantageous to familiarize yourself with the special features of an auction event.

Here you will find all the information of particular importance if you wish to successfully participate in our hall auctions.

  1. What is particularly important?
  2. What can you count on at Künker?
  3. How do I submit a written bid at Künker auctions?
  4. Can I personally attend a Künker auction?
  5. Can I attend a Künker auction by telephone?
  6. What elements factor into the price at an auction?
  7. What are the minimum bid increments during bidding?
  8. What are the payment options at the auction?
  9. When is shipment ready and what are the costs?
  10. Can I bid as a new customer?
  11. How do I find out whether I was successful?
  12. Can I buy the unsold pieces - returned lots - online or in the auction house even after the auction is over?
  13. How is my final price calculated?


1. What is particularly important?

  • Your written order, whether by letter, fax or e-mail, should arrive as early as possible as and not later than one day prior to the auction.
  • If you have any questions, please contact us at the toll-free number: 0800 5836537 (domestic) or +49 541 96202 0 (international). Our staff is looking forward to your call and will guide you on all questions concerning the auction.

2. What can you count on at Künker?

  • Our experts have scrutinized all the pieces prior to the auction for authenticity and possible faults.
  • As a member of the Association of German Coin Dealers (Verband der Deutschen Münzenhändler e.V.) and the AINP (Association Internationale des Numismates Professionels) we are committed to the strict code of both associations.
    http://www.vddm.de/frame.htm
    http://www.iapn-coins.org
  • We guarantee the authenticity of all pieces we offer, even beyond the statutory time limit.
  • Our descriptions of the pieces are meticulous and painstaking. Nevertheless, should we make a mistake, you can rely on our goodwill.
  • Our aim is to purchase the desired pieces in your behalf at prices as reasonable as possible, regardless of how high your limit is. Thus we protect your interests even if you do not personally attend the auction. The name Künker stands for reliability and integrity since 1971. It is both our personal duty and mission to earn your trust.

3. How do I submit a written bid at Künker auctions?
a) Carefully study the catalogue and make note of all the lots that are of interest to you.
b) Set a personal limit for each lot, the maximum amount you are prepared to spend.
c) Complete the order form and enter your maximum bid for each lot. You will find a completed sample order form as well as the order form itself in our download section.
d) Send in your order well in advance. In case of identical bids, the first bid received is awarded the sale.
e) You have found interesting lots for a total of € 10,000 but would only like to spend € 2,000? No problem: You specify an overall limit (excluding buyer's premium) of € 2,000.
f) If you have any questions: Our toll-free number is readily available and our staff members are happy to assist you. 0800 - 5836537 (domestic) or +49 541 96202 0 (international). In exceptional cases, and subject to prior arrangement, you can also participate in our internet or gallery auctions by telephone.

4. Can I personally attend a Künker auction?

  • Sure you can personally attend a Künker auction. The flair of a gallery auction and the atmosphere in the auction gallery are an exceptional experience for any collector. Besides, Osnabrück and Berlin are always worth a visit. And: More and more customers appreciate the personal attention provided by our staff.

http://www.osnabrueck.de
http://www.visitberlin.de

We are very pleased to welcome you personally to Osnabrück or Berlin. Please phone us well in advance so that we may provide you with tips on how to get there and reserve a hotel room for you (note: we can only reserve hotel rooms in Osnabrück). You can reach us at: 0800 - 5836537 (domestic) or +49 541 96202 0 (international). In Osnabrück, our auction takes place in the Steigenberger Hotel Remarque, in Berlin in the Estrel Hotel.

http://de.steigenberger.com/Osnabrueck/Steigenberger-Hotel-Remarque
http://www.estrel.com

As a successful bidder, you can take your newly-acquired pieces home with you right after the gallery auction is over. As one of our company's good customers, your payment terms are within 20 days after the auction.

5. Can I attend the auction by telephone?
Of course, it is possible to attend any of our auctions by telephone. We will be happy to call you during the auction and assist you in purchasing the desired pieces. For organizational reasons, we ask you to take notice of the following:

  • Telephone bidding is accepted exclusively on lot numbers with estimates at 500.00 EUR or more.
  • Please inform us at least 48 hours in advance regarding what pieces you wish to be called on.
  • Please make sure that you are available when your lots will be sold. The time schedule in the catalogue will help you to estimate the exact time of the sale.
  • We recommend registering a bid limit in addition to your request to be called, so that we can bid in your behalf even if the telephone line is not achieved.
  • Please be aware that telephone bidding may be a risky way of participating in our auctions. We do not assume liability should the telephone line be interrupted or not be achieved. If you want to be on the safe side you should attend our auction in person or submit a bid.

6. What elements factor into the price at an auction?
The price listed in the auction catalogue corresponds to the estimate by one of our experts. The minimum bid is set at 80% of the estimated price. The prices of striking the gavel are often much higher than the estimated prices. As a matter of principle, the highest bid will be awarded the sale. Any bid which is at least one increment above all other bids will nomally be awarded the sale. The gavel will be stricken for the lowest eligible price, independent from the actual bid limit.

Example 1 (estimated price: € 1,000).
No written bid has been submitted. The auctioneer announces the lot in the auction at € 800. One bidder submits a bid on it. The gallery bidder will be awarded the sale of the item for € 800.

Example 2 (estimated price: € 1,000).
According to the auction rules, the auctioneer, in the interest of Bidder 1, must outbid Bidder 2 by a reasonable margin (by approx. 5 to 10 %). Thus, in the interest of Bidder 1, the bidding at the auction will start at € 1,900 (although the estimated price is € 1,000). In case no higher bids are received from the gallery, Bidder 1 will be awarded the sale of the item at € 1,900. The maximum bid of 2,900 EUR does not have to be reached.

Example 3 (estimated price: € 1,000).
The auctioneer has only one written bid for € 850. The lot is announced in the auction at € 800. None of the other bidders in the gallery submits a counterbid. The written bidder is awarded the sale at 800 EUR.

Example 4 (estimated price: € 1,000).
The auctioneer has only one written bid for € 1,200. The auctioneer announces the lot at € 800. If there is no counterbidder in the gallery, the written bidder will be awarded the sale of the item at € 800. In case there are counterbidders in the gallery, the auctioneer bids on behalf of the written bidder up to a maximum of € 1,200 EUR and awards the sale to a counterbidder in the gallery only at € 1,300.

Example 5 (estimated price: € 1,000).
There are three bids of € 975 each: In order to prevent any misunderstandings, the auctioneer slightly exceeds the first bid received and awards the sale at € 1,000.

7. What are the minimum bid increments during bidding?

Amount Bids Minimum bid increment
Up to
Up to
Up to
Up to
Up to
Up to
Up to
Up to
Up to
From
€ 100
€ 200
€ 300
€ 1,000
€ 2,000
€ 5,000
€ 10,000
€ 20,000
€ 50,000
€ 50,000
€ 5
€ 10
€ 20
€ 50
€ 100
€ 200
€ 500
€ 1,000
€ 2,000
€ 5,000

8. What are the payment options after the auction?
The payment options are listed here: Payment Options

9. When is shipment ready and what are the costs?
Even as a written bidder, you will not have to wait a long time for your coins. Shipment starts immediately after the auction and is usually completed no later than five days afterwards.

The cost of shipment and insurance will be charged at actual cost. The currently applicable lump sums for our private customers are listed here

10. Can I bid as a new customer?
Of course you can also bid at our gallery auctions as a new customer. Please understand that we will ask you to provide a reference. Please name a coin dealer to which you already have business relations. Should you not be able to name a reference, we will ask you to deposit a certain amount as down-payment. Alternatively, you may call our customer service department. Tel.: 0800 5836537 (domestic) or +49 541 96202 0 (international). We look forward to receiving your call.

11. How do I find out whether I was successful?
All bidders receive a free copy of the list of results within two weeks after the auction. Here on the internet you can review the list of results right after the auction.

12. Can I buy the unsold pieces - returned lots - even after the auction is over?
You can acquire all lots which were not sold during the auction at 80% of the estimated price (subject to 23% premium incl. VAT) within four weeks from the auction from our auction gallery. Please note: many returned lots sell out very quickly.

13. How is my final price calculated?
The final price of coin is based on the price of striking the gavel plus premium, VAT and shipment costs.

  • Price of striking the gavel/ premium:

    The accepted hammer price shall be the reference amount for the premium to be paid by the buyer. The following terms apply to EU buyers: A premium of 23 % (statutory Value Added Tax included) is levied on private clients. If bidders are companies within the meaning of the VAT legislation, for differentially chargeable items a premium of 23 % is levied (statutory VAT included). Tax-free goods and goods subject to regular taxation are underlying a premium of 20 % (for regularly taxable items plus statutory VAT on the total of bid price and premium).

    Institutional buyers (registered coin dealers) with a valid VAT number registered in an EU member state can apply for VAT reimbursement, if they provide us with the requisite statutory registration documents. These documents comprise the VAT registration number and the acknowledgement of receipt from the territory of the EU member state in which the VAT registration was issued. Should we ourselves effect the export of any items, and provided a valid VAT registration document was submitted to us before purchase, VAT will not be charged.

    For buyers, who are residents of non-EU countries, the following rules apply: The premium shall be 20 % (where the goods are exported to a non-EU country by the buyer himself or by a third party, the statutory VAT will be charged but reimbursed on presentation of the statutory evidence of export. If we ourselves effect the export to non-EU countries, no VAT will be charged).

    We are not able to ship items to Russia and the CIS-States. When submitting a bid, customers from these territories shall issue a declaration that the items acquired at the auction will be collected in person or by courier in Osnabrück, where the statutory VAT will become payable. If we are in possession of the statutory documentation proving export, Value Added Tax paid will be reimbursed.

    Any import (and/or turnover) tax and duty payable abroad is on buyer’s account in every case. Any shipping costs shall be charged to the buyer as incurred.

  • VAT:
    We charge customers form Germany and the European Union countries with a premium of 23% on the price of striking the gavel, which includes the statutory VAT. We charge customers in non- EU member countries, such as Norway, Russia, Switzerland, USA, a premium of 20% if the coins are exported by us.
  • Shipping costs:
    Please find the pricing for shipping and handling here: LINK TO SHIPPING COSTS

Have fun and enjoy perusing all that’s on offer in our auction.

Teaserbild
Trennline

Auktionsleitfaden für Saalauktionen


Teaser Kuenker Auktionen

Wenn Sie zum ersten Mal auf Münzen und Medaillen bieten möchten, ist es von Vorteil, sich mit den Besonderheiten des Auktionsablaufs vertraut zu machen.

Hier finden Sie alles, was für Sie besonders wichtig ist, wenn Sie erfolgreich an Saalauktionen in unserem Auktionshaus teilnehmen möchten.

  1. Was ist besonders wichtig?
  2. Worauf können Sie sich bei Künker verlassen?
  3. Wie biete ich schriftlich bei den Künker-Auktionen?
  4. Kann ich persönlich an der Künker-Auktion teilnehmen?
  5. Kann ich telefonisch an der Künker-Saalauktion teilnehmen?
  6. Wie entsteht der Preis in einer Auktion?
  7. Welche Mindeststeigerungsstufen gelten beim Bietverfahren?
  8. Wie kann ich nach der Auktion bezahlen?
  9. Wann erfolgt der Versand und wie hoch sind die Versandkosten?
  10. Kann ich als Neukunde mitbieten?
  11. Wie erfahre ich, ob ich erfolgreich war?
  12. Kann ich die unverkauften Stücke - Rücklose - auch nach der Auktion noch online oder im Auktionshaus kaufen?
  13. Wie berechnet sich mein Endpreis?


1. Was ist besonders wichtig?

  • Ihr schriftlicher Auftrag, ob per Brief, Fax oder E-Mail, sollte möglichst frühzeitig eintreffen, spätestens einen Tag vor der Auktion.
  • Falls Sie Fragen haben, bitte rufen Sie uns an: Gebührenfreie Hotline: 0800 - 5836537 (Inland) bzw. +49 541 96202 0 (international). Unsere Mitarbeiter freuen sich auf Ihren Anruf und unterstützen Sie bei allen Fragen rund um die Auktion.

2. Worauf können Sie sich bei Künker verlassen?

  • Die Experten unseres Auktionshauses haben alle Stücke vor der Auktion auf Echtheit und eventuelle Mängel geprüft.
  • Wir sind als Mitglied des Verbandes der Deutschen Münzenhändler e. V. und der AINP (Association Internationale des Numismates Professionels) den strengen Regeln beider Verbände verpflichtet.
    http://www.vddm.de/frame.htm
    http://www.iapn-coins.org
  • Wir gewährleisten die Echtheit aller angebotenen Objekte, auch über die gesetzliche Frist hinaus.
  • Unsere Beschreibungen der Stücke sind sorgfältig und gewissenhaft. Sollte uns dennoch ein Fehler unterlaufen, können Sie sich auf unsere Kulanz verlassen.
  • Unser Ziel ist es, die gewünschten Stücke so preiswert wie möglich für Sie zu ersteigern, unabhängig davon, wie hoch Ihr Limit ist. Damit wahren wir Ihre Interessen, auch wenn Sie nicht persönlich anwesend sind. Der Name Künker steht seit 1971 für Zuverlässigkeit und Seriosität. Ihr Vertrauen ist uns Verpflichtung und Auftrag zugleich.

3. Wie biete ich schriftlich bei den Künker-Auktionen?
a) Studieren Sie den Katalog sorgfältig und notieren Sie alle Lose, die interessant für Sie sind.
b) Legen Sie für jedes Los Ihr persönliches Limit fest, das Sie maximal zu zahlen bereit sind.
c) Füllen Sie das Auftragsformular aus und tragen Sie für jedes Los Ihr Höchstgebot ein. Einen ausgefüllten Musterauftrag sowie das Auftragsformular finden Sie in unserem Downloadbereich.
d) Schicken Sie uns Ihren Auftrag frühzeitig. Bei gleich hohen Geboten erhält das zuerst eingegangene Gebot den Zuschlag.
e) Sie haben interessante Lose mit einer Gesamtschätzung für 10.000,- € gefunden und möchten nur 2.000,- € ausgeben? Kein Problem: Sie geben als Gesamtlimit (ohne Aufgeld) 2.000,- € an.
f) Wenn Sie Fragen haben: Unsere gebührenfreie Hotline und unsere Mitarbeiter sind gerne für Sie da. 0800 - 5836537 (Inland) bzw. +49 541 96202 0 (international). In Ausnahmefällen können Sie nach Rücksprache auch telefonisch an unseren Auktionen im Internet oder den Saalauktionen teilnehmen.

4. Kann ich persönlich an der Künker-Auktion teilnehmen?

  • Selbstverständlich können Sie an einer Künker-Auktion persönlich teilnehmen. Und das Flair einer Saalauktion, die Stimmung im Auktionssaal sind für jeden ein ganz besonderes Erlebnis. Außerdem sind Osnabrück und Berlin immer eine Reise wert. Und: Die persönliche Betreuung durch unsere Mitarbeiter im Auktionshaus wissen immer mehr Kunden zu schätzen.

http://www.osnabrueck.de
http://www.visitberlin.de

* Wir freuen uns sehr, wenn Sie persönlich nach Osnabrück oder Berlin kommen möchten. Bitte rufen Sie uns rechtzeitig an, damit wir Ihnen Tipps für die Anreise geben und Ihnen ein Hotelzimmer reservieren können (Achtung: die Reservierung von Hotelzimmern ist nur in Osnabrück möglich). Sie erreichen uns unter: 0800 - 5836537 (Inland) bzw. +49 541 96202 0 (international). In Osnabrück findet unsere Auktion im Steigenberger Hotel Remarque statt, in Berlin im Estrel Hotel.

http://de.steigenberger.com/Osnabrueck/Steigenberger-Hotel-Remarque
http://www.estrel.com

* Als erfolgreicher Bieter können Sie Ihre neu erworbenen Stücke gleich nach der Saalauktion persönlich mit nach Hause nehmen. Als guter Kunde unseres Hauses haben Sie 20 Tage Zahlungsziel nach der Auktion.

5. Kann ich telefonisch an der Auktion teilnehmen?
Die telefonische Teilnahme an der Auktion ist bei Auktionen unseres Auktionshauses selbstverständlich möglich. Wir rufen Sie während der Auktion gerne an und helfen Ihnen, die gewünschten Stücke zu ersteigern. Aus organisatorischen Gründen bitten wir Sie, die folgenden Punkte zu beachten:

  • Telefonisches Bieten ist nur bei Losen mit einer Taxe von mind. 500.- € möglich.
  • Bitte teilen Sie uns mindestens 48 Stunden vor der Auktion mit, zu welchen Stücken Sie angerufen werden möchten.
  • Bitte achten Sie darauf, dass Sie erreichbar sind, wenn Ihre Stücke versteigert werden. Der Zeitplan in diesem Katalog hilft Ihnen dabei, den genauen Zeitpunkt abzuschätzen.
  • Wir empfehlen, zusätzlich zu Ihrem Anrufwunsch auch ein Gebotslimit abzugeben, damit wir für Sie auch dann bieten können, falls die Verbindung nicht zustande kommt.
  • Bitte beachten Sie, dass telefonisches Bieten eine unsichere Variante der Auktionsteilnahme sein kann. Wir können keine Garantie für das Zustandekommen der telefonischen Verbindung übernehmen. Wenn Sie sicher gehen wollen, besuchen Sie bitte unsere Saalauktion persönlich oder geben Sie uns ein schriftliches Gebot.

6. Wie entsteht der Preis in einer Auktion?
Der im Auktionskatalog angegebene Preis ist die Schätzung durch einen unserer Experten unseres Auktionshauses. Das Mindestgebot liegt bei 80 % des Schätzpreises. Die Zuschlagpreise sind oft viel höher als die Schätzpreise. Grundsätzlich gilt, dass der Bieter mit dem höchsten Gebot den Zuschlag auf ein Los erhält. Jedes Gebot, dass mindestens eine Bietstufe über allen anderen Geboten liegt, kann im Normalfall einen Zuschlag erhalten. Der Zuschlag erfolgt zum niedrigsten zuschlagsfähigen Preis, unabhängig von der tatsächlichen Höhe eines Gebotes.

Beispiel 1 (Schätzpreis: 1.000,- €)
Es liegt kein schriftlicher Auftrag vor. Der Auktionator ruft das Los in der Auktion mit 800,- € aus. Ein Bieter gibt im Saal ein Gebot an. Der Saalbieter erhält den Zuschlag für 800,- €.

Beispiel 2 (Schätzpreis: 1.000,- €)
Es liegen dem Auktionator drei schriftliche Gebote vor: Bieter 1: Limit 2.900,- €; Bieter 2: Limit 1.800,- €; Bieter 3: Limit 800,- €.
Nach der Versteigerungsordnung muss der Auktionator im Interesse von Bieter 1 den Bieter 2 angemessen überbieten (um ca. 5 bis 10 %). Der Ausrufpreis in der Auktion beträgt daher im Interesse von Bieter 1, 1.900,- € (obwohl die Schätzung 1.000,- € beträgt). Falls keine höheren Gebote aus dem Saal erfolgen, erhält Bieter 1 den Zuschlag für 1.900,- €. Das Höchstgebot von 2.900,- € wird nicht ausgeschöpft.

Beispiel 3 (Schätzpreis: 1.000,- €)
Es liegt dem Auktionator ein schriftliches Gebot von 850,- € vor. Das Los wird in der Auktion mit 800,- € ausgerufen. Im Saal gibt kein Bieter ein Gegengebot ab. Der schriftliche Bieter erhält den Zuschlag bei 800,- €.

Beispiel 4 (Schätzpreis: 1.000,- €)
Es liegt dem Auktionator nur ein schriftliches Gebot von 1.200,- € vor. Der Auktionator ruft das Los mit 800,- € aus. Gibt es im Saal keinen Gegenbieter, erhält der schriftliche Bieter den Zuschlag bei 800,- €. Falls es im Saal Gegenbieter gibt, bietet der Auktionator für seinen schriftlichen Bieter bis maximal 1.200,- € und erteilt einem Gegenbieter im Saal erst bei 1.300,- € den Zuschlag.

Beispiel 5 (Schätzpreis: 1.000,- €)
Es liegen drei Gebote von je 975,- € vor: Um Missverständnisse zu vermeiden, überzieht der Auktionator das zuerst eingegangene Gebot geringfügig und erteilt den Zuschlag bei 1.000,- €.

7. Welche Mindeststeigerungsstufen gelten beim Bietverfahren?

Höhe der Gebote Mindeststeigerungsstufe
Bis zu
Bis zu
Bis zu
Bis zu
Bis zu
Bis zu
Bis zu
Bis zu
Bis zu
Ab
100.- €
200,- €
500,-0 €
1.000,- €
2.000,- €
5.000,- €
10.000,- €
20.000,- €
50.000,- €
50.000,- €
5,- €
10,- €
20,- €
50,- €
100,- €
200,- €
500,- €
1.000,- €
2.000,- €
5.000,- €

8. Wie kann ich nach der Auktion bezahlen?
Die Zahlungsmöglichkeiten finden Sie hier: Zahlungsmöglichkeiten

9. Wann erfolgt der Versand und wie hoch sind die Versandkosten?
Auch als schriftlicher Bieter müssen Sie nicht lange auf Ihre Münzen warten. Der Versand beginnt sofort nach der Auktion und ist in der Regel nach fünf Tagen abgeschlossen.

Die Kosten für Versand und Versicherung werden nach Aufwand berechnet. Die derzeit gültigen Pauschalen für Privatkunden unseres Auktionshauses finden Sie hier.

10. Kann ich auch als Neukunde mitbieten?
Selbstverständlich können Sie auch als neuer Kunde bei unseren Saalauktionen bieten. Bitte haben Sie Verständnis dafür, dass wir Sie nach einer Referenz fragen. Nennen Sie uns bitte eine Münzenhandlung, mit der Sie bereits in Geschäftsverbindung stehen. Sollten Sie keine Referenz nennen können, bitten wir Sie um Hinterlegung einer bestimmten Anzahlung. Oder Sie rufen unseren Kundenservice an. Telefon: 0800 - 5836537 (Inland) bzw. +49 541 96202 0. Wir freuen uns über Ihren Anruf.

11. Wie erfahre ich, ob ich erfolgreich war?
Alle Bieter der Saalauktionen erhalten gratis die Ergebnisliste innerhalb von zwei Wochen nach der Auktion. Hier im Internet können Sie die Ergebnisliste der Auktion sofort nach der Auktion einsehen. Zudem werden die Ergebnisse im Online-Katalog 15 Minuten nach dem Zuschlag veröffentlicht.

12. Kann ich die unverkauften Stücke auch nach der Auktion noch kaufen?
Alle Lose, die in der Auktion nicht verkauft wurden, können Sie innerhalb von vier Wochen nach der Versteigerung zu 80 % des Schätzpreises (zzgl. 23 % Aufgeld inkl. Mehrwertsteuer) über unser Auktionshaus erwerben. Achtung: Viele Rücklose sind schnell vergriffen.

13. Wie berechnet sich mein Endpreis?
Der Endpreis einer Münze berechnet sich aus Zuschlagpreis plus Aufgeld und Mehrwertsteuer sowie Versandkosten.

  • Zuschlagpreis/Aufgeld:
    Wir berechnen für Kunden in Deutschland und Ländern der Europäischen Union ein Aufgeld von 23 % auf den Zuschlagpreis, darin ist die gesetzliche Mehrwertsteuer enthalten. Wir berechnen Kunden in Drittländern, z. B. Norwegen, Russland, Schweiz, USA, ein Aufgeld von 20 %, wenn die Münzen durch uns exportiert werden.
  • Mehrwertsteuer:
    In Deutschland und Ländern der Europäischen Union ist die Mehrwertsteuer im Rechnungsbetrag enthalten. In Ausnahmefällen unterliegen die Objekte der Vollbesteuerung. Das wird durch eine Liste im Auktionskatalog angezeigt. Seit dem 01.01.2000 sind viele Goldmünzen, die nach 1800 geprägt wurden, steuerfrei. Bei Fragen zu der MwSt.-Berechnung rufen Sie uns an, gebührenfrei unter: 0800 583 65 37.
  • Versandkosten:
    Die Versandkosten finden Sie hier: Versandkosten

Wir wünschen Ihnen viel Freude beim Stöbern in unseren Katalogen und viel Erfolg beim Bieten!