Teaserbild
Trennline

Serving the Collector for More Than 40 years


Fritz Rudolf Kuenker

Those who understand, and have a feel for, the fascination which emanates from embossed gold and silver know: one can only be successful in the coin business when he or she is in it with heart and soul.

The beginning of Fritz Rudolf Künker’s passion came with a present from his grandfather, who in the mid-1950s left his six-year-old grandson a five-mark piece minted in 1903 in the (at that time) Kingdom of Saxony. From that moment the fascination with embossed metal never loosened its hold on Fritz Rudolf Künker. The collection of imperial coins which he assembled as a schoolboy and student of history became, in 1971, the cornerstone and foundation of his company. Initially a “one-man operation" in his native Schapdetten near Münster, the company grew quickly. It found a new base of operations in the historic old city center (“Altstadt”) of Osnabrück, before moving to a villa built in Germany’s industrial age (“Gründerzeit”) in Osnabrück’s Westerberg neighborhood.

In 1972 the owner’s brother was hired as the first employee. Horst-Rüdiger Künker, as authorized officer, directs the gold merchandising division which, along with the coin business, represents the company’s second important activity.

The business of merchandising and shipping coins and medals was expanded more than 20 years ago to include the auction business, which has since become associated worldwide with the name Künker.

Today, after four decades of coin and gold merchandising and some 290 successful auctions, more than 50 employees work in Osnabrück, Munich, Berlin, Hamburg, Znojmo and Zurich for the firm, which since 2008 has been administered as the limited commercial partnership “Fritz Rudolf Künker GmbH & Co. KG”.

And the fascination with embossed metal is still every bit as strong in the Künker family as in the grandfather’s time: since 2009 Ulrich Künker, the son of Fritz Rudolf Künker, has been a partner and, as general manager, committed to the company’s traditions.

Teaserbild
Trennline

Seit mehr als 40 Jahren im Dienste der Sammler


Fritz Rudolf Kuenker

Wer einmal die Faszination verstanden hat, die von geprägtem Gold und Silber ausgeht, der begreift, dass man nur dann Erfolg im Münzhandel haben kann, wenn man mit Leib und Seele dabei ist.

Für Fritz Rudolf Künker war der Anfang seiner Leidenschaft ein Geschenk seines Großvaters. Der vererbte seinem sechsjährigen Enkel Mitte der 50er Jahre ein Fünfmarkstück, geprägt 1903 im damaligen Königreich Sachsen. Von da an hat die Faszination des geprägten Metalls Fritz Rudolf Künker nicht mehr losgelassen. Die Sammlung von Reichsmünzen, die er als Schüler und Student der Geschichte aufbaute, wurde 1971 zum Grundstock der Firma. Zunächst ein "Einmannbetrieb" im heimischen Schapdetten bei Münster, wuchs seine Firma schnell. Sie fand ein neues Quartier in der Altstadt von Osnabrück, ehe sie in eine Gründerzeitvilla am Osnabrücker Westerberg umzog.

Bereits 1972 wurde als erster Mitarbeiter der Bruder des Inhabers eingestellt. Horst-Rüdiger Künker leitet als Prokurist die Abteilung Goldhandel, die neben dem Münzgeschäft die zweite wichtige Säule des Unternehmens bildet.

Zum Handel und Versand von Münzen und Medaillen kam vor über 20 Jahren auch das Auktionsgeschäft hinzu, mit dem der Name Künker inzwischen weltweit assoziiert wird.

Heute, nach vier Jahrzehnten Münz- und Goldhandel sowie rund 290 erfolgreichen Auktionen, arbeiten in Osnabrück, München, Berlin, Hamburg, Znojmo und Zürich über 50 Mitarbeiter für das Unternehmen, das seit 2008 als Kommanditgesellschaft Fritz Rudolf Künker GmbH & Co. KG geführt wird.

Und die Faszination des geprägten Metalls ist in der Familie Künker immer noch genauso wirksam wie zu Zeiten des Großvaters: Seit 2009 ist Ulrich Künker, der Sohn von Fritz Rudolf Künker, Mitunternehmer und als Leiter der Kundenbetreuung der Tradition des Unternehmens verpflichtet.

Im Mai 2014 bezog das Auktionshaus Künker seine neue Wirkstätte, ein modernes Kompetenzzentrum für Numismatik, in dem auch Europas größte numismatische Bibliothek nun Ihr Zuhause hat.