Teaserbild
Trennline

Byzantine Coins (ca. 500-1453)


The Roman Empire lasted until the late Middle Ages – at least, in eastern Europe. With the division of the Imperium Romanum following the death of the Emperor Theodosius I in 395 the so-called “Byzantine Empire”, named after its capital, arose in the eastern part of the old empire. In reality, however, this terminology is a product of modern historical research. The contemporary citizens always considered, and referred to, themselves as “Romans” and never as “Byzantines”.

Mauricius Tiberius, 582-602. Solidus, 853-601, Konstantinopel.
Mauricius Tiberius, 582-602. Solidus, 853-601, Konstantinopel. Zuschlag: 340 Euro.

From 330 to 1453 Byzantium, originally founded as “Nova Roma” (Νέα ̔Ρώμη) (and later as Constantinople) was not only the residence of the Emperor of the Eastern Roman Empire, but – due to its location on the Bosporus – also a bridge between the medieval occidental- and oriental cultures. Following the “Eastern Schism” of 1054 (at the latest) the city also became the center of the Orthodox Church.

Anastasius II. Artemius, 713-715. Solidus, Konstantinopel.
Anastasius II. Artemius, 713-715. Solidus, Konstantinopel. Zuschlag: 4.200 Euro.

The history of coinage in the Byzantine Empire begins with the approximately 500 coin reforms executed by Emperor Anastasius I (491-518), which Justinian I (527-565) further expanded and which essentially remained valid until well into the 8th century. The coinage of Byzantium was tri-metallically constructed, with 3 denominations in gold (solidus, semis and triens), 2 in silver (miliarense and siliqua) and 5 in copper (40, 20, 10, 5 and 1 nummus). In the 7th century the number of mints for Byzantine coins was markedly reduced. Besides Constantinople, minting continued to take place in Rome, Ravenna, Carthage and Syracuse until these cities were eventually lost to the Lombards and Arabs. Thus a great spectrum of types, mints and denominations in Byzantine coins opens its mysteries to the collector today.

Basilius II., 976-1025. Histamenon, 1005-1025, Konstantinopel.
Basilius II., 976-1025. Histamenon, 1005-1025, Konstantinopel. Zuschlag: 1.800 Euro.

Under the Emperor Alexios I Komnenos (1081-1118) Byzantine minting was radically transformed in 1092. Thereafter in Byzantium there were four coin denominations (hyperperon and elektron-trachy in gold, stamenon in a silver-copper alloy, and tetarteron in copper), whereby the gold- and silver coins were minted in bowl form (“skyphate”). The significance of this -- not always particularly successful -- embossing technique is not completely clear to this day. Possibly it was intended to simply distinguish between old (minted from fine silver and fine gold) and new (composed of alloys) coins from Byzantium.

In 1204, in the course of the fourth crusade, Constantinople was conquered by a crusader army and the Latin Empire of Constantinople (1204-1261) was instituted. The Byzantine Emperor withdrew to Nicea during this period. From the end of the 13th century until the city’s conquest by the Ottoman Turks under Sultan Mehmed II (1444-1446 / 1451-1481) on 29 May, 1453, almost exclusively Byzantine silver coins (basilicon or stavraton) similar to the European groschen or “groat” were minted. At the time at which minting of gold coinage truly resumed in the remainder of Europe, it was discontinued in Byzantium. Byzantine gold coins, with their rulers’ portraits and images of Christ, represented until the 11th century a kind of “medieval world currency”, before they were eventually replaced by Italian coinages.

Experience the coinage and evolving history of the Eastern Roman Empire (Byzantium) from the 5th to the 15th centuries with a collection of Byzantine coins!

Introductory literature:

  • Hahn, W.: Moneta imperii byzantini, Wien 1973 and subsequently.
  • Hendy, M. F.: Coinage and Money in the Byzantine Empire 1081-1261, Washington 1969.
  • Sear, D. R.: Byzantine Coins and their Values, London 1974.
  • Sommer, A. U.: Die Münzen des byzantinischen Reiches 491-1453, 1. edition, Regenstauf 2010.

Current coins from our Coin Shop

Trennlinie


Trennlinie

Teaserbild
Trennline

Byzantinische Münzen (ca. 500-1453)


Das Römische Reich ist erst im Spätmittelalter untergegangen – zumindest im Osten Europas. Mit der Reichsteilung des Imperium Romanum nach dem Tod von Kaiser Theodosius I. im Jahre 395 entstand im östlichen Teil das nach seiner Hauptstadt benannte „Byzantinische Reich“. Dabei entstammt der Ausdruck eigentlich der modernen Geschichtsforschung. Die Zeitgenossen verstanden und bezeichneten sich immer als „Römer“ und nie als „Byzantiner“.

Mauricius Tiberius, 582-602. Solidus, 853-601, Konstantinopel.
Mauricius Tiberius, 582-602. Solidus, 853-601, Konstantinopel. Zuschlag: 340 Euro.

Von 330 bis 1453 war das ursprünglich als Nova Roma (Νέα ̔Ρώμη) gegründete Byzanz (später auch Konstantinopel) nicht nur die Residenz der Kaiser des oströmischen Reiches, sondern aufgrund seiner Lage am Bosporus auch eine Brücke zwischen den Kulturen des mittelalterlichen Morgen- und Abendlandes. Spätestens seit dem „Morgenländischen Schisma“ von 1054 war die Stadt außerdem Zentrum der orthodoxen Kirche.

Anastasius II. Artemius, 713-715. Solidus, Konstantinopel.
Anastasius II. Artemius, 713-715. Solidus, Konstantinopel. Zuschlag: 4.200 Euro.

Die Münzgeschichte des byzantinischen Reiches beginnt mit den um 500 durchgeführten Münzreformen Kaiser Anastasius I. (491-518), die Justinian I. (527-565) weiter ausbaute und die im Wesentlichen bis ins 8. Jahrhundert ihre Gültigkeit besaßen. Das Münzwesen von Byzanz war trimetallisch mit 3 Nominalen in Gold (Solidus, Semis und Triens), 2 in Silber (Miliarense und Siliqua) und 5 in Kupfer (40, 20, 10, 5 und 1 Nummus) aufgebaut. Im 7. Jahrhundert wurde die Anzahl der Münzstätten für byzantinische Münzen stark reduziert. Neben Konstantinopel prägten noch Rom, Ravenna, Karthago und Syrakus bis diese nach und nach an die Langobarden und Araber verloren gingen. So eröffnet sich dem Sammler eine große Bandbreite an Typen, Münzstätten und Nominalen byzantinischer Münzen.

Basilius II., 976-1025. Histamenon, 1005-1025, Konstantinopel.
Basilius II., 976-1025. Histamenon, 1005-1025, Konstantinopel. Zuschlag: 1.800 Euro.

Unter Kaiser Alexios I. Komnenos (1081-1118) wurde das byzantinische Münzwesen 1092 radikal umgestaltet. Fortan gab es in Byzanz vier Münznominale (Hyperperon und Elektron-Trachy in Gold, Stamenon in einer Silber-Kupfer-Legierung und Tetarteron in Kupfer), wobei die Gold- und Silbermünzen schüsselförmig geprägt wurden (sog. Skyphate). Die Bedeutung dieser nicht immer besonders gelungenen Prägetechnik ist bis heute noch nicht restlos entschlüsselt worden. Möglicherweise sollte sie der einfachen Unterscheidung von alten (aus Feinsilber/Feingold geprägten) und neuen (aus Legierungen bestehenden) Münzen aus Byzanz dienen.

1204 wurde Konstantinopel im Zuge des Vierten Kreuzzuges von einem Kreuzfahrerheer erobert und das Lateinische Kaiserreich (1204-1261) errichtet. Die byzantinischen Kaiser wichen für diesen Zeitraum nach Nicäa aus. Vom Ende des 13. Jahrhundert bis zur Eroberung der Stadt durch die Osmanen unter Sultan Mehmed II. (1444-1446/1451-1481) am 29. Mai 1453 wurden fast nur noch byzantinische Silbermünzen (Basilicon oder Stavraton) ähnlich dem europäischen Groschen geprägt. Zu dem Zeitpunkt, als im restlichen Europa die Goldmünzprägung erst wieder richtig begann, wurde sie in Byzanz eingestellt. Dabei waren die byzantinischen Goldmünzen mit ihren Herrscherporträts und Christusdarstellungen bis zum 11. Jahrhundert eine Art „Weltwährung des Mittelalters“ gewesen, bevor sie von den italienischen Prägungen abgelöst wurden.

Erleben Sie die Münzprägung und wechselvolle Geschichte des oströmischen Reiches (Byzanz) vom 5. bis zum 15. Jahrhundert mit einer Sammlung byzantinischer Münzen!

Einführungsliteratur

  • Hahn, W.: Moneta imperii byzantini, Wien 1973 ff.
  • Hendy, M. F.: Coinage and money in the Byzantine Empire 1081-1261, Washington 1969.
  • Sear, D. R.: Byzantine Coins and their Values, London 1974.
  • Sommer, A. U.: Die Münzen des byzantinischen Reiches 491-1453, 1. Auflage, Regenstauf 2010.

Aktuelle Münzen im Münz-Shop

Trennlinie


Trennlinie