Teaserbild
Trennline

Coins of the crusaders (ca. 1095-1523)


Probably no event exercised greater social and cultural influence on the medieval world between the 11th and 13th centuries than the crusades, and the associated founding of Christian states in Palestine and the Mediterranean region.

Jerusalem. Dinar nach fatimidischem Typ. 1187-1250, Akko.
Jerusalem. Dinar nach fatimidischem Typ. 1187-1250, Akko. Zuschlag: 650 Euro.

In 1095 Pope Urban II (1088-1099) called, in the French city of Clermont, for the liberation of the “Holy Land” from Muslim possession and thereby initiated the crusades of the high Middle Ages. The constant demand for replenishment of supplies created brisk trade activity with the crusader states, from which -- above all -- the Italian city republics Venice, Florence and Genoa profited. Naturally, minting as well did not remain uninfluenced by the military conflicts.

Johanniter auf Rhodos. Helion de Villeneuve, 1319-1346. Gigliato.
Johanniter auf Rhodos. Helion de Villeneuve, 1319-1346. Gigliato. Zuschlag: 700 Euro.

The numismatics of the crusades covers all coinage of the so-called “Latin Orient“– that is, the four crusader states in Palestine and Syria: the Kingdom of Jerusalem, the Principality of Antioch, and the counties of Edessa and Tripoli. In addition there are coins from the Christian states founded in the Aegean following the conquest of the Byzantine Empire by the crusaders (1204), and the mintings by the Order of St. John on Rhodes. In the coin images and inscriptions of the crusaders, European, Islamic and Byzantine elements of design come together in a unique combination. Coins of gold, silver and copper were embossed.

Zypern. Jakob II., 1460-1473. Groschen.
Zypern. Jakob II., 1460-1473. Groschen. Zuschlag: 2.200 Euro

Between the First and Second Crusades (1099-1146), apparently only copper coins based on a Byzantine model were coined in Antioch und Edessa. Thereafter the crusaders began a phase of silver coin minting (ca. 1150-1250) based on European models (denarius). Impressive coin images from the Kingdom of Jerusalem include for example the “Tower of David” under Baldwin III (1143-1163) and the “Church of the Holy Sepulcher” under Amalric IV (1163-1174). The gold coins of the crusaders, probably minted starting in the 1140s, are lightweight imitations of Arabic dinars with legends often containing mistakes. In 1251 Pope Innocence IV (1243-1254) forbade the “unchristian” mintings of these coins, which thereafter featured a cross in the coin image and boasted inscriptions with Christian content – although still in Arabic script.

Immerse yourself in the coin history of an eventful age and experience with the crusaders the medieval exchange of cultures between Orient and Occident, in coin images!

Introductory literature:

  • Malloy, A. G. / Preston, I. F. / Seltman, A. J.: Coins of the Crusader States, 2. Auflage, New York 2004.
  • Metcalf, D. M.: Coinage of the Crusades and the Latin East in the Ashmolean Museum Oxford, 2. Auflage, London 1995.
  • Schlumberger, G. L.: Numismatique de l’Orient latin, Paris 1878-1822.
  • Stumpf, G.: Der Kreuzzug Kaiser Barbarossas. Münzschätze seiner Zeit, München 1991.

Highlights from our current eLive Auctions

Trennlinie


Trennlinie

Teaserbild
Trennline

Münzen der Kreuzfahrer (ca. 1095-1523)


Wohl kaum ein Ereignis hat die Welt des Mittelalters zwischen dem 11. und 13. Jahrhundert derart sozial und kulturell beeinflusst, wie die Kreuzzüge und die damit verbundenen christlichen Staatenbildungen in Palästina und dem Mittelmeerraum.

Jerusalem. Dinar nach fatimidischem Typ. 1187-1250, Akko.
Jerusalem. Dinar nach fatimidischem Typ. 1187-1250, Akko. Zuschlag: 650 Euro.

Im Jahre 1095 rief Papst Urban II. (1088-1099) im französischen Clermont zur Befreiung des Heiligen Landes aus der Hand der Muslime auf und löste damit die Kreuzzugswelle des Hochmittelalters aus. Der ständige Bedarf an Nachschub löste rege Handelsaktivitäten mit den Kreuzfahrerstaaten aus, von denen in erster Linie die italienischen Städterepubliken Venedig, Florenz und Genua als Kreuzfahrer profitierten. Selbstverständlich blieb auch die Münzprägung nicht unbeeinflusst von den militärischen Auseinandersetzungen.

Johanniter auf Rhodos. Helion de Villeneuve, 1319-1346. Gigliato.
Johanniter auf Rhodos. Helion de Villeneuve, 1319-1346. Gigliato. Zuschlag: 700 Euro.

Die Kreuzfahrernumismatik umfasst alle Prägungen des sogenannten „Lateinischen Orients“ - also der vier Kreuzfahrerstaaten in Palästina und Syrien: das Königreich Jerusalem, das Fürstentum Antiochia sowie die Grafschaften Edessa und Tripolis. Hinzu kommen die christlichen Staatengründungen in der Ägäis nach der Eroberung des Byzantinischen Reiches durch die Kreuzfahrer (1204) und die Prägungen des Johanniter-Ordens auf Rhodos. In den Münzbildern und Umschriften der Kreuzfahrer treffen europäische, islamische und byzantinische Gestaltungselemente aufeinander und gehen eine einzigartige Verbindung ein. Geprägt wurden Gold-, Silber- und Kupfermünzen.

Zypern. Jakob II., 1460-1473. Groschen.
Zypern. Jakob II., 1460-1473. Groschen. Zuschlag: 2.200 Euro

Zwischen dem Ersten und Zweiten Kreuzzug (1099-1146) wurden anscheinend nur Kupfermünzen nach byzantinischem Vorbild in Antiochia und Edessa geprägt. Danach begann bei den Kreuzfahrern eine Phase der Silbermünzprägung (ca. 1150-1250) nach europäischem Vorbild (Denare). Einprägsame Münzbilder des Königreichs Jerusalem sind beispielsweise der „Davidsturm“ Balduins III. (1143-1163) und die „Grabeskirche“ unter Amalrich IV. (1163-1174). Die vermutlich seit den 1140er Jahren geprägten Goldmünzen der Kreuzfahrer sind untergewichtige Nachahmungen arabischer Dinare mit fehlerhaften Legenden. Im Jahre 1251 verbot Papst Innozenz IV. (1243-1254) diese unchristlichen Prägungen der Münzen, die fortan ein Kreuz im Münzbild zeigten und Umschriften mit christlichem Inhalt besaßen - freilich weiterhin in arabischer Schrift.

Tauchen Sie in die Münzgeschichte einer bewegten Epoche ein und erleben Sie mit den Kreuzfahrern den mittelalterlichen Kulturaustausch zwischen Orient und Okzident im Münzbild!

Einführungsliteratur

  • Malloy, A. G. / Preston, I. F. / Seltman, A. J.: Coins of the Crusader States, 2. Auflage, New York 2004.
  • Metcalf, D. M.: Coinage of the Crusades and the Latin East in the Ashmolean Museum Oxford, 2. Auflage, London 1995.
  • Schlumberger, G. L.: Numismatique de l’Orient latin, Paris 1878-1822.
  • Stumpf, G.: Der Kreuzzug Kaiser Barbarossas. Münzschätze seiner Zeit, München 1991.

Highlights unserer aktuellen eLive Auctions

Trennlinie


Trennlinie