Teaserbild
Trennline

German Coins from 1871 – from the Imperial Coinage to the Euro


With the Constitution of the German Empire of April 16th, 1871 the authority for the imperial currency was transferred from the individual federal states to the imperial government. Reform which had long been needed toward the creation of a unified measurement, currency, and weight system could thus be carried out in the form of the imperial coinage.

Friedrich August III., 1904-1918. 3 Mark 1917 E.
Friedrich August III., 1904-1918. 3 Mark 1917 E. Zuschlag: 70.000 Euro.

The mark (in northern Germany 1/3 taler and in southern Germany 35 kreuzer), divided into decimal units, was chosen as the common denominational unit. 100 pfennigs were to make up a mark, and both silver and gold denominations were to be in circulation. Another practical aspect was the fact that 10 pfennigs equaled approximately the value of a groschen, which explains the popular term for the denomination.

As the symbol of the unification won in the Franco-Prussian War (1870 / 1871) the imperial coins also received a unified image: the denominational pieces of between 2 and 20 Mark showed on the front side the imperial eagle, the year, and the denominational value, with the inscription “DEUTSCHES REICH”. The design of the reverse side of the imperial coins remained the prerogative of the respective state rulers (in, for example, Bavaria, Prussia, Saxony or the Free City of Lübeck), whereby the extent of the coin releases is proportional to the size of the minting authority involved. Thus in Prussia many more coins were issued than in, for example, Oldenburg or Saxe-Coburg and Gotha. For smaller coin values, the amount, year of issue, and imperial eagle were consistently displayed. The indication of the minting institution on the imperial coins was made with letters in the dynastic sequence as follows: *A = Berlin (Emperor of the German Empire, King of Prussia), B = Hannover, C = Frankfurt am Main, D* = Munich, E = Dresden, F* = Stuttgart, G* = Karlsruhe, H = Darmstadt, J* = Hamburg (those labeled “*” still exist).

Wilhelm II., 1888-1918. 20 Mark 1889 A.
Wilhelm II., 1888-1918. 20 Mark 1889 A. Zuschlag: 400 Euro.

With the collapse of the empire in the First World War and the declaration of the Weimar Republic, the period of territorial states based on the noble hierarchy ended, and the imperial currency was once again unified. The catastrophic inflation of the years 1920 to1923 was brought under control through the introduction of the rentenmark on October 15th, 1923 (1 rentenmark = 1 trillion paper marks). One year later, on August 30th, 1924, the reintroduction of the reichsmark (RM) followed, which circulated officially until 1948 parallel to the rentenmark.

Following the Second World War a currency reform took place on June 20th, 1948 in the three Occupied Zones of West Germany. The “Bank of the German States” exchanged 100 reichsmarks for 6.50 deutsche marks (DM). The currency in the Soviet-occupied zone, too, was initially called the “deutsche mark”, then in1964 “mark of the German Federal Bank” (“Mark der deutschen Notenbank”, MDN) and after 1968 simply “mark” (M). After an eventful period for the imperial coinage, on January 1st, 1999 a new chapter in monetary history was opened with the introduction of the Euro (EUR), initially as credit money. On January 1st, 2002 the introduction of Euro cash followed.

Deutsch Ostafrika. 15 Rupien 1916, Tabora.
Deutsch Ostafrika. 15 Rupien 1916, Tabora. Zuschlag: 7.500 Euro.

The turbulent history of Germany in the 20th century produced a multiplicity of coin types, as well as emergency-, memorial- and token money minting, and thus represents a richly varied and – due to extensive literature – also easily accessible collection area in coins. Because of mechanical minting technology taking hold in the final years of the 19th century and, in some cases, quite large issues of individual types, even minor nuances of condition can play a large role in pricing with the coins of the German Empire. One popular collection area in German Coins involves “test coins” – that is, unreleased model mintings with interesting coin images by well-known artists. Of course, those who wish to can also supplement such a collection with the paper money of the individual German states and the gold bullion coinage of the Federal Republic of Germany.

Introductory literature:

  • Jaeger, K.: Die deutschen Münzen seit 1871, 22. Auflage, Regenstauf 2011 (jährlich aktualisierte Auflage).
  • Arnold, P. / Küthmann, H. / Steinhilber, D.: Großer deutscher Münzkatalog von 1800 bis heute, 28. Auflage, Regenstauf 2013 (jährlich aktualisierte Auflage).

Highlights of our current auctions

Trennlinie


Highlights from our current eLive Auctions

Trennlinie


Trennlinie

Teaserbild
Trennline

Deutsche Münzen ab 1871 – Von der Reichsmünze bis zum Euro


Mit der Verfassung des Deutschen Reiches vom 16. April 1871 ging auch die Zuständigkeit für die Reichswährung von den einzelnen Bundesstaaten auf die Reichsregierung über. Damit konnten endlich die bereits seit langer Zeit notwendigen Reformen zur Schaffung eines einheitlichen Maß-, Münz- und Gewichtssystems in Form der Reichsmünze durchgeführt werden.

Friedrich August III., 1904-1918. 3 Mark 1917 E.
Friedrich August III., 1904-1918. 3 Mark 1917 E. Zuschlag: 70.000 Euro.

Als gemeinsame Nominaleinheit wurde die Mark (in Norddeutschland 1/3 Taler und in Süddeutschland 35 Kreuzer) in dezimaler Teilung gewählt. 100 Pfennige sollten eine Mark ergeben und es sollten Silber- und Goldnominale im Umlauf sein. Es erwies sich ebenfalls als praktisch, dass 10 Pfennige etwa dem Wert eines Groschens entsprachen, woher sich auch die Bezeichnung des Nominals im Volksmund erklärt.

Als Symbol der im deutsch-französischen Krieg (1870/1871) gewonnen Einheit erhielten auch die Reichsmünzen ein einheitliches Bild: Die Nominalwerte von 2 bis 20 Mark zeigten auf der Vorderseite den Reichsadler, die Jahreszahl und den Nennwert mit der Umschrift DEUTSCHES REICH. Die Rückseiten der Reichsmünzen blieben der Gestaltung des jeweiligen Landesherren (bspw. Bayern, Preußen, Sachsen oder die Freie Stadt Lübeck) vorbehalten, wobei der Umfang der Prägeemissionen im Verhältnis zur Größe des jeweiligen Münzherren steht. In Preußen wurden vielmehr Münzen ausgegeben als beispielsweise in Oldenburg oder Sachsen-Coburg-Gotha. Bei den kleineren Münzwerten wurden einheitlich Wert, Jahreszahl und Reichsadler aufgeprägt. Die Bezeichnung der Prägeanstalten auf den Reichsmünzen erfolgte mit Buchstaben in der dynastischen Reihenfolge ihrer Träger: *A = Berlin (Kaiser des Deutschen Reiches, König von Preußen), B = Hannover, C = Frankfurt a. M., D* = München, E = Dresden, F* = Stuttgart, G* = Karlsruhe, H = Darmstadt, J* = Hamburg (die mit einem * gekennzeichneten existieren heute noch).

Wilhelm II., 1888-1918. 20 Mark 1889 A.
Wilhelm II., 1888-1918. 20 Mark 1889 A. Zuschlag: 400 Euro.

Mit dem Untergang des Kaiserreiches im Ersten Weltkrieg und dem Ausruf der Weimarer Republik endete auch die Zeit der adligen Territorialstaaten und die Reichswährung wurde nochmals vereinheitlicht. Die katastrophale Inflation der Jahre 1920/1923 wurde durch die Einführung der Rentenmark am 15. Oktober 1923 stabilisiert (1 Rentenmark = 1 Billion Papiermark). Ein Jahr später am 30. August 1924 folgte die (Wieder)Einführung der Reichsmark (RM), die bis 1948 offiziell parallel zur Rentenmark zirkulierte.

Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg erfolgte die Währungsreform in den drei westdeutschen Besatzungszonen am 20. Juni 1948. Die „Bank deutscher Länder“ tauschte 100 Reichsmark gegen 6,50 Deutsche Mark (DM). Auch die Währung in der sowjetisch besetzten Zone hieß zunächst Deutsche Mark, 1964 dann Mark der Deutschen Notenbank (MDN) und seit 1968 schlicht Mark (M). Nach einer ereignisreichen Zeit für die Reichsmünzen, wurde am 1.Januar 1999 mit der Einführung des Euro (EUR) zunächst als Buchgeld ein neues Kapitel der Geldgeschichte aufgeschlagen. Zum 1. Januar 2002 folgte die Einführung des Euro-Bargeldes.

Deutsch Ostafrika. 15 Rupien 1916, Tabora.
Deutsch Ostafrika. 15 Rupien 1916, Tabora. Zuschlag: 7.500 Euro.

Die wechselvolle Geschichte Deutschlands im 20. Jahrhundert hat eine Vielzahl von Münztypen, sowie Not-, Gedenk- und Ersatzgeldprägungen hervorgebracht und stellt insoweit ein abwechslungsreiches und aufgrund der breiten Literaturbasis auch leicht zugängliches Sammelgebiet für Münzen dar. Aufgrund der maschinellen Prägetechnik seit dem ausgehenden 19. Jahrhundert und der zum Teil recht großen Ausgabemengen einzelner Typen spielen bei Reichsmünzen bereits kleine Erhaltungsnuancen eine große Rolle bei der Preisfindung. Ein beliebtes Sammelgebiet deutschen Münzen sind auch die Probemünzen – also nicht verausgabte Musterprägungen mit interessanten Münzbildern bekannter Künstler. Wer möchte, kann natürlich auch das Papiergeld der einzelnen deutschen Staaten und die Anlagegoldprägungen der Bundesrepublik in seine Sammlung miteinbeziehen.

Einführungsliteratur

  • Jaeger, K.: Die deutschen Münzen seit 1871, 22. Auflage, Regenstauf 2011 (jährlich aktualisierte Auflage).
  • Arnold, P. / Küthmann, H. / Steinhilber, D.: Großer deutscher Münzkatalog von 1800 bis heute, 28. Auflage, Regenstauf 2013 (jährlich aktualisierte Auflage).

Highlights unserer aktuellen eLive Auctions

Trennlinie


Aktuelle Münzen im Münz-Shop

Trennlinie


Trennlinie