Teaserbild
Trennline

Russian Coins and Medals (15th-20th Centuries)


Russian coin history is still relatively young. The development of Russian coins cannot be traced back directly to ancient or medieval prototypes, but rather unfolded in an astoundingly short time in an abundance and splendor which, with its impressive coin- and medal images and its large-sized gold and silver mintings, can quickly put the collector under its fascinating spell.

Peter I., 1682-1725. Rubel 1705, Moskau.
Peter I., 1682-1725. Rubel 1705, Moskau. Zuschlag: 15.000 Euro.

While many world currencies -- such as the American dollar -- derived their names from the silver taler, which had been minted since the end of the 15th century, Russia took a different numismatic path with its currency: the rubel, introduced under Tsar Peter I “the Great” (1682-1725), took its name from the old Russian word for “to strike” (rubit). This old-fashioned term for Russian coins goes back to a time in which pieces were still cut from massive metal ingots in order to produce smaller means of payment. This quaint terminology for coins stands in stark contrast to the fact that the Russian coin system was the first decimally designed, modern currency system in the world (1 rubel = 100 kopeks) and that its structure still remains in effect after more than 300 years.

Nikolaus I., 1825-1855. Sog. Familienrubel, 1835.
Nikolaus I., 1825-1855. Sog. Familienrubel, 1835. Zuschlag: 650.000 Euro.

Although the fundamental structure of the denomination was quite simple, the necessity of supplying a gigantic empire with money led to the emergence of a great number of various types and coin images, which make the collecting of Russian coins a passion which is highly stimulating in its rich variety. In Russian coin and medal images the great rulers of Russia reappear before our eyes and bring Russian history, in the truest sense of the term, close enough to touch.

Aside from normal coins of currency, diverse renowned personalities and significant events in Russian history are preserved and recorded in medal images: from the Russian naval fleet expeditions of the 18th century, to the battles against Frederick II of Prussia and Napoleon, to the imposing and impressive structures of the Industrial Age.

Sowjetunion, 1917-1991. Rubel 1984. Mit fehlerhafter Jahresangabe!
Sowjetunion, 1917-1991. Rubel 1984. Mit fehlerhafter Jahresangabe! Zuschlag: 10.000 Euro.

Numerous new publications in a number of languages, with extensive pictorial material, make it simple even for beginners with no knowledge of the Cyrillic alphabet to quickly immerse themselves in Russian coin and medal history, and to take home a piece of Russia “stamped out of history”.

Introductory literature:

  • Bitkin, V.: Composite Catalogue of Russian Coins, 2 Bände, Kiew 2003.
  • Diakov, M. E.: Russian Coins 1686-1796, 6 Bände, Moskau 2000-2003.
  • Diakov, M. E.: Medals of the Russian Empire 1672-1917, 7 Bände, Moskau 2004-2007.
  • Severin, H. M.: The Silver Coinage of Imperial Russia 1682 to 1917, Basel / Amsterdam / London 1965.
  • Spasski, I. G.: Das russische Münzsystem. Ein historisch-numismatischer Abriss, Berlin 1983.

Highlights of our current auctions

Trennlinie


Current coins from our Coin Shop

Trennlinie


Trennlinie

Teaserbild
Trennline

Russische Münzen und Medaillen (15.-20. Jahrhundert)


Die russische Münzgeschichte ist noch vergleichsweise jung. Die Entwicklung der russischen Münzen lässt sich nicht direkt auf antike oder mittelalterliche Vorbilder zurückführen und entfaltete dennoch in erstaunlich kurzer Zeit eine Fülle und Pracht, die mit ihren beeindruckenden Münz- und Medaillenbildern sowie großformatigen Gold- und Silberprägungen Sammler schnell in ihren Bann zu ziehen vermag.

Peter I., 1682-1725. Rubel 1705, Moskau.
Peter I., 1682-1725. Rubel 1705, Moskau. Zuschlag: 15.000 Euro.

Während viele Weltwährungen wie der amerikanische Dollar ihren Namen von dem seit dem Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts geprägten silbernen Taler ableiteten, ging Russland mit seinem Münzwesen einen numismatischen Sonderweg: Der unter Zar Peter I. dem Großen (1682-1725) eingeführte Rubel hat seinen Namen von dem altrussischen Wort für „abschlagen“ (rubit). Diese altertümliche Bezeichnung der russischen Münzen geht zurück auf eine Zeit, in der noch Stücke von massiven Metallbarren abgehauen wurden, um kleinere Zahlungsmittel zu erhalten. Diese altertümlich anmutende Bezeichnung der Münzen steht im krassen Gegensatz zu der Tatsache, dass das russische Münzsystem das erste dezimal aufgebaute, moderne Währungssystem der Welt war (1 Rubel = 100 Kopeken) und in seiner Struktur noch nach mehr als 300 Jahren Gültigkeit besitzt.

Nikolaus I., 1825-1855. Sog. Familienrubel, 1835.
Nikolaus I., 1825-1855. Sog. Familienrubel, 1835. Zuschlag: 650.000 Euro.

Auch wenn die Grundstruktur der Nominale recht einfach war, hat doch die Notwendigkeit, ein riesiges Reich mit Geld zu versorgen, eine große Menge verschiedenster Typen und Münzbilder hervorgebracht, die das Sammeln russischer Münzen zu einer spannenden und abwechslungsreichen Leidenschaft macht. In den russischen Münz- und Medaillenbildern treten uns die großen Herrscher Russlands wieder vor Augen und machen die russische Geschichte im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes „begreifbar“.

Neben den reinen Zahlungsmitteln sind diverse berühmte Persönlichkeiten und bedeutende Ereignisse der russischen Geschichte im Medaillenbild festgehalten worden: Von den russischen Flottenexpeditionen des 18. Jahrhunderts über die Schlachten gegen Friedrich II. von Preußen und Napoleon, bis zu den imponierenden Bauten des Industriezeitalters.

Sowjetunion, 1917-1991. Rubel 1984. Mit fehlerhafter Jahresangabe!
Sowjetunion, 1917-1991. Rubel 1984. Mit fehlerhafter Jahresangabe! Zuschlag: 10.000 Euro.

Zahlreiche mehrsprachige Neuveröffentlichungen mit umfangreichem Bildmaterial machen es für Einsteiger leicht, auch ohne Kenntnisse des Kyrillischen schnell in die russische Münz- und Medaillengeschichte einzutauchen und sich ein Stück „geprägter Geschichte“ nach Hause zu holen.

Einführungsliteratur

  • Bitkin, V.: Composite Catalogue of Russian Coins, 2 Bände, Kiew 2003.
  • Diakov, M. E.: Russian Coins 1686-1796, 6 Bände, Moskau 2000-2003.
  • Diakov, M. E.: Medals of the Russian Empire 1672-1917, 7 Bände, Moskau 2004-2007.
  • Severin, H. M.: The Silver Coinage of Imperial Russia 1682 to 1917, Basel / Amsterdam / London 1965.
  • Spasski, I. G.: Das russische Münzsystem. Ein historisch-numismatischer Abriss, Berlin 1983.

Highlights unserer aktuellen eLive Auctions

Trennlinie


Trennlinie