Teaserbild
Trennline

Great Migrations (4th-6th Centuries BC)


The older ideas about hordes of barbaric tribes and ethnic groups overrunning the borders of the Roman Empire and bringing about its downfall can no longer be supported by modern research. Germanic peoples were already to be found in great numbers in Roman (military) service; in addition it was not unified tribes, but rather mixed “alliances of necessity” which opposed the armies of late antiquity on the battlefield.

Odoaker, König von Italien ab 476-493. Solidus im Namen des Zeno, Mediolanum.
Odoaker, König von Italien ab 476-493. Solidus im Namen des Zeno, Mediolanum. Zuschlag: 7.500 Euro.

To this extent the term “Great Migations”, in use since the 18th century, has come under increasing criticism from historians in recent times. From a numismatic point of view “Great Migrations” indicates all mintings by Germanic tribes (gentes) from the first “pseudo-imperial” restrikes of Roman coins up through the autonomous “nationalized” coins of the Germanic kingdoms (regna).

Westgoten. Sisebut, 612-621. Tremissis, Narbonne.
Westgoten. Sisebut, 612-621. Tremissis, Narbonne. Zuschlag: 6.000 Euro.

The first stages of the migration era currencies are the so-called “pseudo-imperial” coinages – more or less successful imitations of imperial gold and silver coins which can be attributed to various ethnic groups and tribes based on their styles. Copper- (follis) and silver coins (siliqua) were “nationally” (i.e., in the name of the Germanic ruler) minted as early as the end of the 5th century. The gold coins (solidus and triens) continued to imitate the Eastern Roman / Byzantine prototypes, sometimes with the addition of a small ruler monogram in the field (e.g., GVB for the Burgundian King Gundobald, 473-516). The Frankish ruler Theudebert von Metz (534-548) was the first to put his own name on coins, whereby he broke the gold coin monopoly of the Byzantine emperors.

Langobarden. Desiderius, letzter König der Langobarden, 757-773. Tremissis, Castelseprio.
Langobarden. Desiderius, letzter König der Langobarden, 757-773. Tremissis, Castelseprio. Zuschlag: 9.000 Euro.

For the collector of coins from the Great Migrations, subject networks may include mintings of the Vandals (north Africa), Ostrogoths (Italy), Visigoths (France and Spain), Suebi (Spain) and Lombards (Italy), although their identification and attribution is not always simple and requires a good knowledge of the specialist literature.

Experience the time of the “Barbarian Invasions” and thus the beginning of the European Middle Ages in coin images and inscriptions! Discover the Great Migrations and get to know the coins in detail, through fascinating literature.

Introductory literature:

  • Bernareggi, E.: Moneta Langobardorum, Mailand 1983 [ital.] / London 1989 [engl.].
  • Grierson, P. / Blackburn, M.: Medieval European Coinage. 1 The Early Middle Ages (5th-10th centuries), Cambridge 1986.
  • Metlich, M.: The Coinage of Ostrogothic Italy, London 2004.
  • Pliego Vázquez, Ruth: La Moneda Visigoda, 2 Bände, Sevilla 2009.
  • Tomasini, W.: The Barbaric Tremisses in Spain and Southern France. Anastasius to Leovigild (Numismatic Notes and Monographs 152), New York 1964.
  • Vico Monteoliva, J. / Cruz Corez Gomendio, M. / Cores Úria, G.: Corpus Nummorum Visigothorum ca. 575-714, Madrid 2006.

Highlights from our current eLive Auctions

Trennlinie


Trennlinie

Teaserbild
Trennline

Völkerwanderung (4.-6. Jahrhundert n. Chr.)


Die ältere Vorstellung von Horden barbarischer Völkerschaften, die den Limes überrannten und das Römische Reich zu Fall brachten, ist in der heutigen Forschung so nicht mehr tragbar. Zum einen befanden sich Germanen bereits zuvor in größerer Zahl in römischen (Militär) Diensten und zum anderen waren es keine einheitlichen Stämme, sondern eher gemischte Zweckbündnisse, die den spätantiken Heeren entgegentraten.

Odoaker, König von Italien ab 476-493. Solidus im Namen des Zeno, Mediolanum.
Odoaker, König von Italien ab 476-493. Solidus im Namen des Zeno, Mediolanum. Zuschlag: 7.500 Euro.

Insofern ist auch der seit dem 18. Jahrhundert gebrauchte Begriff „Völkerwanderung“ in letzter Zeit zunehmend in die Kritik der Historiker geraten. Numismatisch gesehen bezeichnet „Völkerwanderung“ alle Prägungen germanischer Stämme (gentes) von den ersten „pseudo-imperialen“ Nachprägungen römischer Münzen bis zu den eigenständigen „nationalisierten“ Münzen der germanischen Königreiche (regna).

Westgoten. Sisebut, 612-621. Tremissis, Narbonne.
Westgoten. Sisebut, 612-621. Tremissis, Narbonne. Zuschlag: 6.000 Euro.

Die erste Stufe des völkerwanderungszeitlichen Münzwesens sind die sogenannten „pseudo-imperialen“ Prägungen – mehr oder weniger gelungene Nachahmungen kaiserlicher Gold- und Silbermünzen, die sich anhand ihres Stils verschiedenen Stämmen zuweisen lassen. Kupfer- (Follis) und Silbermünzen (Siliqua) wurden bereits seit dem Ende des 5. Jahrhunderts „nationalisiert“, d. h. im Namen der germanischen Herrscher, geprägt. Die Goldmünzen (Solidus und Triens) ahmten weiterhin das oströmisch-byzantinische Vorbild nach, gelegentlich ergänzt durch ein kleines Herrschermonogramm im Feld (bspw. GVB für den Burgunderkönig Gundobald, 473-516). Erst der Frankenherrscher Theudebert von Metz (534-548) setzte seinen eigenen Namen auf die Münzen und brach damit das Goldmünzenmonopol der byzantinischen Kaiser.

Langobarden. Desiderius, letzter König der Langobarden, 757-773. Tremissis, Castelseprio.
Langobarden. Desiderius, letzter König der Langobarden, 757-773. Tremissis, Castelseprio. Zuschlag: 9.000 Euro.

Für den Sammler von Münzen der Völkerwanderung kommen Prägungen der Vandalen (Nordafrika), Ostgoten (Italien), Westgoten (Frankreich und Spanien), Sueben (Spanien) und Langobarden (Italien) als Themenkomplexe in Frage, wobei deren Bestimmung und Zuweisung nicht immer leicht ist und eine gute Kenntnis der Fachliteratur erfordert.

Erleben Sie die Zeit der Barbarian Invasions und damit den Beginn des europäischen Mittelalters in Münzbild und -schrift! Entdecken Sie die Völkerwanderung und vertiefen Sie sich mit den Münzen in spannender Literatur.

Einführungsliteratur

  • Bernareggi, E.: Moneta Langobardorum, Mailand 1983 [ital.] / London 1989 [engl.].
  • Grierson, P. / Blackburn, M.: Medieval European Coinage. 1 The Early Middle Ages (5th-10th centuries), Cambridge 1986.
  • Metlich, M.: The Coinage of Ostrogothic Italy, London 2004.
  • Pliego Vázquez, Ruth: La Moneda Visigoda, 2 Bände, Sevilla 2009.
  • Tomasini, W.: The Barbaric Tremisses in Spain and Southern France. Anastasius to Leovigild (Numismatic Notes and Monographs 152), New York 1964.
  • Vico Monteoliva, J. / Cruz Corez Gomendio, M. / Cores Úria, G.: Corpus Nummorum Visigothorum ca. 575-714, Madrid 2006.

Highlights unserer aktuellen eLive Auctions

Trennlinie


Trennlinie