Teaserbild
Trennline

Chinese Coins – 2,000 Years of Coin- and Monetary History


With a population of more than 1 billion, China is today the most heavily-populated country on Earth and has a history of well over 2,000 years. The use of money, too, can be documented as far back as the Neolithic period – at that time, however, still in the form of the shells of the cowry (“primitive money”). Thereafter, a phase of “utensil money” followed with bronze currency in the form of knives (bu) or spades (dao).

China. Sattelförmiger Silberbarren zu 5 Tael, um 1920/30. Provinz Yun-nan.
China. Sattelförmiger Silberbarren zu 5 Tael, um 1920/30. Provinz Yun-nan. Zuschlag: 550 Euro.
China. Hsuang Tung, 1908-1911. 1 Dollar (o. J.) 1911, Tientsin. Probe in Silber.
China. Hsuang Tung, 1908-1911. 1 Dollar (o. J.) 1911, Tientsin. Probe in Silber. Zuschlag: 460.000 Euro.

In 211 BC the Emperor Qin Shi Huangdi (247-210 BC) is said to have introduced the first round coins with a square hole in the middle (“cash”). During the Han dynasty (206 BC until 220 AD) the value of Chinese coins was decoupled from the country’s precious metals and a denominational system was introduced. The currency requirements of the huge empire must have been tremendous. Under the Song Emperors alone, 200 billion Chinese copper coins are said to have been minted. With paper money, too, the Chinese were well ahead of the Europeans: as early as 1024 in China the first banknotes in the world were issued, covered by imperial gold and silver. However in 1644 the printing of paper money was discontinued again, following numerous monetary devaluations.

In the 17th century, in addition to the traditional Chinese copper, a silver currency based on the tael (37.78 g), divided into 10 mace (= 100 kandarin = 1,000 li), was established. The yuan, still in use today, was first introduced in 1889. The overthrow of the Emperor and the establishment of the Republic of China were closely followed by the conversion of the currency to the silver dollar.

China. 500 Yuan 1988. Jahr des Drachen. PP.
China. 500 Yuan 1988. Jahr des Drachen. PP. Zuschlag: 7.000 Euro.

Since the assumption of power by the Communist Party after the Second World War the People’s Bank of China (PBoC) has administered the nation’s mint- and currency policy.
In addition to Chinese circulation coins for daily payment transactions, China issues today with the “panda” one of the most popular gold bullion coins worldwide in various denominations and precious metals, with motifs which change each year.

Due to the coin images stating the ruler’s name, face value, and province, hardly changed since the time of the emperors, a bit of practice enables one to identify even the older Chinese copper coins from the representations fairly easily. Also attractive are the silver dollar mintings issued by China since the 19th century for the simplification of international trade, with their western-influenced motifs. One need only think of the “auto dollar” minted in 1928 on the occasion of the opening of the first paved roads for automobiles in Kweichow province.

Start your own collection of Chinese coins, featuring one of the oldest coin histories, and begin your numismatic journey into the “Middle Kingdom” (Zhōngguó)!

Introductory literature:

  • Kann, Eduard: Illustrated Catalog of Chinese Coins (Gold, Silver, Nickel and Aluminium), New York 1966.
  • Krause Publications (Krause/Mishler), Standard Catalog of World Coins (1601-Date), 5 Bände, Iola 2012 (jährlich aktualisierte Auflage).
  • Hartill, D.: Cast Chinese Coins, 2005.

Current coins from our Coin Shop

Trennlinie


Trennlinie

Teaserbild
Trennline

Chinesische Münzen – 2.000 Jahre Münz- und Geldgeschichte


Mit mehr als 1 Milliarde Einwohnern ist China heute das bevölkerungsreichste Land der Erde mit einer über 2.000jährigen Geschichte. Auch der Gebrauch von Geld ist in China bereits in der Jungsteinzeit nachweisbar – damals allerdings noch in Gestalt der Schalen von Kaurischnecken ("Primitivgeld"). Danach folgte eine Phase des "Gerätegeldes" mit bronzenen Zahlungsmitteln in Form von Messern (Bu) oder Spaten (Dao).

China. Sattelförmiger Silberbarren zu 5 Tael, um 1920/30. Provinz Yun-nan.
China. Sattelförmiger Silberbarren zu 5 Tael, um 1920/30. Provinz Yun-nan. Zuschlag: 550 Euro.
China. Hsuang Tung, 1908-1911. 1 Dollar (o. J.) 1911, Tientsin. Probe in Silber.
China. Hsuang Tung, 1908-1911. 1 Dollar (o. J.) 1911, Tientsin. Probe in Silber. Zuschlag: 460.000 Euro.

211 v. Chr. soll Kaiser Qin Shi Huangdi (247-210 v. Chr.) die ersten runden Münzen mit einem quadratischen Loch in der Mitte eingeführt haben (Käsch). In der Han-Dynastie (206 v. Chr.-220 n. Chr.) wurde der Wert chinesischer Münzen von ihrem Edelmetallgehalt gelöst und ein Nennwert eingeführt. Der Bedarf des Riesenreiches an Zahlungsmitteln muss gigantisch gewesen sein. Allein unter den Song-Kaisern (960-1279) sollen 200 Milliarden chinesische Kupfermünzen geprägt worden sein. Auch beim Papiergeld waren die Chinesen den Europäern um einige Zeit voraus: Bereits im Jahre 1024 wurden die ersten, durch kaiserliches Gold und Silber gedeckten, chinesischen Banknoten der Welt ausgegeben. Allerdings wurde 1644 der Druck von Papiergeld nach der Erfahrung zahlreicher Geldentwertungen wieder aufgegeben.

Im 17. Jahrhundert etablierte sich neben der traditionellen chinesischen Kupfer- eine Silberwährung auf Basis des Tael (37,78 g), der in 10 Mace (= 100 Kandarin = 1.000 Li) unterteilt wurde. Der noch heute gebräuchliche Yuan wurde jedoch erst 1889 eingeführt. Mit dem Sturz der Kaiser und der Gründung der Republik China erfolgte die kurzfristige Umstellung der Währung auf den Silberdollar.

China. 500 Yuan 1988. Jahr des Drachen. PP.
China. 500 Yuan 1988. Jahr des Drachen. PP. Zuschlag: 7.000 Euro.

Seit der Machtübernahme durch die Kommunistische Partei nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg verwaltet die People’s Bank of China (PBoC) die Münz- und Währungspolitik des Landes. Neben den chinesischen Kursmünzen für den alltäglichen Zahlungsverkehr gibt China mit dem Panda in verschiedenen Stückelungen und Edelmetallen heute eine der beliebtesten Anlagegoldmünzen weltweit mit jährlich wechselnden Motiven heraus.

Aufgrund der bereits seit der Kaiserzeit einheitlichen Münzbilder mit Angabe des Herrschernamens, des Nennwertes und der Provinz lassen sich auch die älteren chinesischen Kupfermünzen anhand von Abbildungen und mit etwas Übung relativ leicht bestimmen. Reizvoll sind auch die von China zur Erleichterung des internationalen Handels seit dem 19. Jahrhundert ausgegebenen silbernen Dollarprägungen mit ihren westlich beeinflussten Motiven. Man denke nur an den 1928 geprägten „Autodollar“ anlässlich der Eröffnung der ersten Autostraße in der Provinz Kweichow.

Starten Sie eine Sammlung von chinesischen Münzen, einer der ältesten Münzgeschichten, und begeben Sie sich auf eine numismatische Reise ins „Reich der Mitte“ (Zhongguó)!

Einführungsliteratur

  • Kann, Eduard: Illustrated Catalog of Chinese Coins (Gold, Silver, Nickel and Aluminium), New York 1966.
  • Krause Publications (Krause/Mishler), Standard Catalog of World Coins (1601-Date), 5 Bände, Iola 2012 (jährlich aktualisierte Auflage).
  • Hartill, D.: Cast Chinese Coins, 2005.

Aktuelle Münzen im Münz-Shop

Trennlinie


Trennlinie