Teaserbild
Trennline

European Coins and Medals (16th-21st centuries)


The numismatic modern era begins in Europe around 1500 in the Habsburg countries. With the minting of the Tirol gulden-groschen as the first large silver coin -- with the value of a Rhenish gold gulden -- in 1486, Archduke Sigismund “Rich in Coins” (1439-1490) instituted the model for the most successful coin type of the next 400 years.

Frankreich. Charles VII, 1422-1461. Franc à cheval o. J. (12. Sept. 1422), Montpellier.
Frankreich. Charles VII, 1422-1461. Franc à cheval o. J. (12. Sept. 1422), Montpellier. Zuschlag: 70.000 Euro.

The name for this successful model was provided by the Counts von Schlick with their silver mine Joachimstal, whence the term “taler” is derived. The silver coin was minted in all of Europe and beyond under a variety of names – in Scandinavia as the rigsdaler, in Italy as the taller, in Spain as the peso, in France as the ecu, in England as the crown, and in the USA as the dollar.

Großbritannien. Victoria, 1837-1901. Florin 1873, London. Gotischer Typ.
Großbritannien. Victoria, 1837-1901. Florin 1873, London. Gotischer Typ. Zuschlag: 400 Euro.

In spite of the widespread popularity of this most important European trade coin of the 16th to the 19th centuries, the modern minting in the full range of its variety in types and images is vast and barely quantifiable, and so we can only mention a few special items and aspects in this space.

Even in such a relatively small country as Switzerland, there were more than 800 coin types in circulation in the mid-19th century, as there was a multiplicity of rulers responsible for minting. Among the coin images we find portraits of nearly all famous European personalities: whether the “Virgin Queen” Elizabeth I (1558-1603) or the “Lord Protector” Oliver Cromwell (1656-1658), the “Sun King” Louis XIV (1643-1715) or the “Emperor of the French” Napoléon Bonaparte (1804-1814 / 1815), whether the “Lion of the North” Gustav II Adolf (1611-1632) or the “Savior of Vienna” John III Sobieski (1674-1696) – they all left a trail in the world of coin- and medals minting and are thus part of European history.

Polen. Sigismund III., 1587-1632. Portugalöser zu 10 Dukaten 1622.
Polen. Sigismund III., 1587-1632. Portugalöser zu 10 Dukaten 1622. Zuschlag: 130.000 Euro.

And the coin images can help us understand even more than simply the ever-changing coin history of Europe. From the 16th to the early 19th centuries Spain minted coins from rough die-cuttings on sometimes angular, coarse casts of silver from the mines of Mexico and Peru. In the vernacular, these mintings were referred to as “ship money” because it was believed they were made during the crossing from the colonies. In 1795 during the French Revolution, for the first time in a European nation a currency based on the decimal system, with the franc as the standard silver coinage, was introduced.

In addition to the established coin forms there were numerous special mintings in Europe: thus in the 17th / 18th centuries in Sweden, due to a lack of silver, large copper plates weighing several kilos were issued as a means of payment. At the same time in England a shortage of small change resulted in numerous private mintings (tokens) with a variety of attractive motifs. One interesting hybrid form combining coin and medal is that of the schraubmedaille and schraubtaler (from “schrauben”, meaning “to twist, screw or bolt”) – hollow-printed medal containers with serial picture inserts of colored paper. The numerous restrikes of common coin types, as well, represent a popular collection area in European coins: for instance the Dutch löwentaler (or leeuwendaaler, “lion taler”) was imitated in the 17th century by many mints in Germany, Denmark and Italy. The extensive military activities of the modern era also resulted in numerous issues of emergency- and siege money, i.e. in the form of square klippen (from the Swedish “klippe”, “to cut with scissors”).

Experience the exciting (coin) history of the European continent in its coin- and medal images! Learn more about history and European coins.

Introductory literature:

  • Davenport, J. S.: European Crowns 1484-1600, Frankfurt a. M. 1977.
  • Davenport, J. S.: European Crowns 1600-1700, Galesburg 1974.
  • Davenport, J. S.: European Crowns 1700-1800, London 1964.
  • Davenport, J. S.: European Crowns since 1800, London 1964.
  • Krause Publications (Krause/Mishler), Standard Catalog of World Coins (1601-Date), 5 Bände, Iola 2012 (jährlich aktualisierte Auflage).
  • Friedberg, A. L. / Friedberg, I. S.: Gold Coins of the World. From ancient times to the present, 8. Auflage, Clifton 2009.
  • Schön, G. / Kahnt, H.: Weltmünzkatalog 19. Jahrhundert (1801-1900), 16. Auflage, Regenstauf 2013 (jährlich aktualisierte Auflage).
The catalogues cited can provide only an overview of the collection area European coins. A large number of special catalogues exists on the individual countries and regions for interested collectors.

Highlights of our current auctions

Trennlinie


Highlights from our current eLive Auctions

Trennlinie


Current coins from our Coin Shop

Trennlinie


Trennlinie

Teaserbild
Trennline

Europäische Münzen und Medaillen (16.-21. Jahrhundert)


Die numismatische Neuzeit beginnt in Europa um das Jahr 1500 in den habsburgischen Landen. Mit der 1486 aufgenommenen Prägung des Tiroler Guldengroschens als erster Großsilbermünze im Wert eines rheinischen Golguldens lieferte Erzherzog Sigismund der Münzreiche (1439-1490) die Vorlage für den erfolgreichsten Münztyp der nächsten 400 Jahre.

Frankreich. Charles VII, 1422-1461. Franc à cheval o. J. (12. Sept. 1422), Montpellier.
Frankreich. Charles VII, 1422-1461. Franc à cheval o. J. (12. Sept. 1422), Montpellier. Zuschlag: 70.000 Euro.

Den Namen zu diesem Erfolgsmodell lieferten die Grafen von Schlick mit ihrem Silberbergwerk Joachimstal, von dem sich die Bezeichnung Taler ableitet. Die Silbermünze wurde in ganz Europa und darüber hinaus unter verschiedenen Namen geprägt – in Skandinavien als Rigsdaler, in Italien als Tallero, in Spanien als Peso, in Frankreich als Ecu, in England als Crown und in den USA als Dollar.

Großbritannien. Victoria, 1837-1901. Florin 1873, London. Gotischer Typ.
Großbritannien. Victoria, 1837-1901. Florin 1873, London. Gotischer Typ. Zuschlag: 400 Euro.

Trotz der allgemeinen Beliebtheit dieser wichtigsten europäischen silbernen Handelsmünze des 16.-19. Jahrhunderts ist die neuzeitliche Münzprägung in der Gesamtheit ihrer Typen- und Bildervielfalt dennoch nahezu unüberschaubar, weshalb an dieser Stelle nur auf einige Besonderheiten hingewiesen werden kann. Selbst in einem vergleichsweise kleinen Land wie der Schweiz waren in der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts mehr als 800 Münzvarianten im Umlauf, da es eine Vielzahl von Prägeherren gab. In den Münzbildern finden wir die Porträts nahezu aller berühmten europäischen Persönlichkeiten wieder: Ob die „jungfräuliche Königin“ Elizabeth I. (1558-1603) oder der „Lordprotektor“ Oliver Cromwell (1656-1658), ob der „Sonnenkönig“ Ludwig XIV. (1643-1715) oder der „Kaiser der Franzosen“ Napoléon Bonaparte (1804-1814/1815), ob der „Löwe aus dem Norden“ Gustav II. Adolf (1611-1632) oder der „Retter Wiens“ Johann III. Sobieski (1674-1696) – Sie alle haben ihre Spuren in der Münz- und Medaillenprägung hinterlassen und sind Teil der Geschichte von Europa.

Anhand der Münzbilder lässt sich nicht nur die wechselvolle Münzgeschichte Europas nachvollziehen. So prägte Spanien vom 16. bis zum frühen 19. Jahrhundert Münzen von rohem Stempelschnitt auf teilweise eckigen Schrötlingen aus dem Silber der Bergwerke Mexikos und Perus. Im Volksmund wurden diese Prägungen „Schiffsgeld“ genannt, weil man annahm, sie seien während der Überfahrt aus den Kolonien entstanden. Während der Französischen Revolution wurde 1795 erstmals in einem europäischen Land ein auf dem Dezimalsystem beruhendes Münzwesen mit dem Franc als Standardsilberprägung eingeführt.

Polen. Sigismund III., 1587-1632. Portugalöser zu 10 Dukaten 1622.
Polen. Sigismund III., 1587-1632. Portugalöser zu 10 Dukaten 1622. Zuschlag: 130.000 Euro.

Neben den klassischen Münzformen gibt es noch zahlreiche Sonderprägungen in Europa: So entstanden im 17./18. Jahrhundert in Schweden in Ermangelung von Silber großformatige Kupferplatten von mehreren Kilo Gewicht als Zahlungsmittel. In England entstanden aus Kleingeldmangel zum gleichen Zeitpunkt zahlreiche Privatmünzprägungen (Tokens) mit einer Vielzahl attraktiver Motive. Eine interessante Zwitterform von Münze und Medaille sind auch die Schraubmedaillen/Schraubtaler – hohlgeprägte Medaillendosen mit eingelegten Bildserien aus koloriertem Papier. Außerdem bilden auch die zahlreichen Nachprägungen gängiger Münzsorten ein beliebtes Sammelgebiet für europäische Münzen: Beispielsweise wurde der niederländische Löwentaler (Leeuwendaaler) im 17. Jahrhundert von zahlreichen Münzständen in Deutschland, Dänemark und Italien nachgeahmt. Auch die umfangreichen militärischen Unternehmungen der Neuzeit haben eine Fülle an Not- und Belagerungsgeld z. B. in Form von quadratischen Klippen (von schwed. klippe = „mit der Schere schneiden“) hinterlassen.

Erleben Sie die spannende (Münz)Geschichte des europäischen Kontinents in seinen Münz- und Medaillenbildern! Lernen Sie mehr über die Historie und europäischen Münze.

Einführungsliteratur

  • Davenport, J. S.: European Crowns 1484-1600, Frankfurt a. M. 1977.
  • Davenport, J. S.: European Crowns 1600-1700, Galesburg 1974.
  • Davenport, J. S.: European Crowns 1700-1800, London 1964.
  • Davenport, J. S.: European Crowns since 1800, London 1964.
  • Krause Publications (Krause/Mishler), Standard Catalog of World Coins (1601-Date), 5 Bände, Iola 2012 (jährlich aktualisierte Auflage).
  • Friedberg, A. L. / Friedberg, I. S.: Gold Coins of the World. From ancient times to the present, 8. Auflage, Clifton 2009.
  • Schön, G. / Kahnt, H.: Weltmünzkatalog 19. Jahrhundert (1801-1900), 16. Auflage, Regenstauf 2013 (jährlich aktualisierte Auflage).
Die angeführten Kataloge können lediglich einen Überblick zum Sammelgebiet der europäischen Münzen vermitteln. Zu den einzelnen Ländern und Regionen existiert eine Vielzahl an Spezialkatalogen für den interessierten Sammler.

Highlights unserer aktuellen Auktionen

Trennlinie


Highlights unserer aktuellen eLive Auctions

Trennlinie


Aktuelle Münzen im Münz-Shop

Trennlinie


Trennlinie